V is for Valen

Standard

v

Dear readers,

I’m sorry for any unforgivable mistakes in grammar that may be in this blog post. I’m a little behind (if you can’t tell), and I don’t have a lot of time to proofread.

Sincerely,

A senior who just has to make it through finals week

It’s April, and that means it’s time for the A to Z challenge. I really must be a glutton for punishment; April is my last month of college, and I’m still an amateur blogger, but I must say, I’m looking forward to the challenge. I’m going to be writing short little blurbs about some retired characters from my DISTANT past up until recently; all of them are failed concepts. Part of me is hoping that writing about these characters will inspire me…perhaps to write more during the summer when school is out.

Valen was one of my first characters that I created when my writing started to evolve, and as my writing matured, he got worse. It has happened to me a lot in the past it seems. I start out with a fairly decent idea (even if it isn’t super refined), and it just gets worse as I try to fix it. It’s like when you mess up your eyeliner, and you think to yourself, “If I smudge it just a little bit, I’m sure I can salvage it without having to start over.” Thirty minutes later, not only are you starting over, but you’re still cleaning black smudges off of your forehead and neck. (Who knows how it got there?) Valen is basically screwed up eyeliner, so I’m going to give you a glimpse at the before and after.

Originally, Valen was a ghost. The legend goes that he was his village’s sole protector, and he deserted it in its time of need. But he got scared; we all do. He still ended up dead but with a nice little curse to keep him rooted to his dilapidated village. Fun stuff. He haunts his village, killing off any trespasser no matter what his/her intentions may be. He’s waiting for someone ot put his wrathful spirit to rest.

But then I decided to keep him alive. I gave him a wife and daughter. His wife died in an attack on his village. His daughter didn’t, but he never knew that. He assumed that his family died because he was off projecting others. He lost everything, and it made him bitter. He just kind of became a huge antihero. He eventually finds his daughter, and things get a little better, but he struggles with the idea of being a single father.

I’m not sure if I want to keep him alive or dead. That’s a lot of power to play with. But I kind of want to take the best parts of both of these concepts. There are a lot of directions I could take with him.

4 responses »

  1. It’s always awesome to meet other young writers, I’m 19! I love this post, too. Being a writer gives you a lot of power for sure! Maybe writing more in depth about Valen’s backstory would help you decide whether to keep him dead or alive? Just a suggestion!

    Also, I could not find a follow button for this blog, I was trying to follow it, but I can’t figure it out lol. So I followed your Twitter instead!

    Like

    • I’m 21! I love seeing other young people who write as well. It’s always something I’ve been super passionate about. I’m definitely going to work with him more…it might take a while to figure out what I want to do.

      Well that’s funny! I know i have a way to sign up through email, and if you have a wordpress account, a little button usually pops up when you scroll up. I’ll be sure to update my Twitter more often!

      Like

  2. Love the imagery of the screwed up eyeliner.
    Good luck with finals – I bet you’ll be celebrating (or sleeping) after completely the A-Z and classes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

