S is for Sveta

Standard

s

It’s April, and that means it’s time for the A to Z challenge. I really must be a glutton for punishment; April is my last month of college, and I’m still an amateur blogger, but I must say, I’m looking forward to the challenge. I’m going to be writing short little blurbs about some retired characters from my DISTANT past up until recently; all of them are failed concepts. Part of me is hoping that writing about these characters will inspire me…perhaps to write more during the summer when school is out.

Today I get to talk about a villain, who’s a villain in more than one way, but at the same time, I like to think that she’s at least seemingly sympathetic. Do you like your typical super scary villain? Do you you your everyday domestic villain? Well, Sveta is both, but she’s also the victim of circumstance, so I suppose you could feel bad for her as well.

She’s one of my younger villains at the age of 19. Her father sold her into marriage with a man much older than her when she was 15 which is customary for her people. She was the youngest of her siblings, including another sister, but she was the only one the guy wanted. Over night, she became mother to a little boy named Samir (the man’s son from a previous marriage). She wasn’t happy, so when her husband fell ill, she ran, leaving everything behind. After her husband died, her step-son was alone, and he ended up in a very, very bad situation… Most people who read her story hate Sveta because of what happens to Samir, but I won’t go into detail about that.

Some people might call her selfish. Some people might think she had every right to run away. But that isn’t what necessarily makes her a villain. After all, we can’t possibly know what kind of consequences our actions will have.

She retreated to the woods and studied the dark arts which included how to summon monsters. With her siblings, she worked under a man named Malcolm Youngblood kidnapping people for his experiments. Sveta struggles with doing what’s right and doing stuff for herself which I think is a very relatable idea, especially for us modern folks. She does horrible things to give herself a comfortable life without ever thinking about others. However, her siblings are all much, much worse than her. Much. Much worse.

Where did I go wrong? Not gonna’ lie. I think she’s a pretty well-rounded character. I had simply forgotten about her! I suppose that’s a neat thing about this challenge, eh?

Leave a Reply

