Q is for Querida

Standard

q

It’s April, and that means it’s time for the A to Z challenge. I really must be a glutton for punishment; April is my last month of college, and I’m still an amateur blogger, but I must say, I’m looking forward to the challenge. I’m going to be writing short little blurbs about some retired characters from my DISTANT past up until recently; all of them are failed concepts. Part of me is hoping that writing about these characters will inspire me…perhaps to write more during the summer when school is out.

Allow me to preface this post with this statement: I don’t remember how I discovered the movie this character is based on. The internet is a dangerous place; sometimes I get lost on it. I think everyone has experienced this at least once in his or her life. But it’s quite possibly the most graphic suburban tale I’ve ever heard of. It’s also based on a true story which makes it even worse. (Guys, I watch Criminal Minds and still consider this stuff graphic. I suppose this is your warning!)

Someone found out about a girl that was tortured by a family member and an entire community to the point where they killed her or she committed suicide (I forget which one), and no one tried to stop it. So of course someone decided to make a movie about it after the fact. (It’s called The Girl Next Door (2007) if anyone’s interested. I’ve never watched it myself, and I don’t have any desire to watch it, but I’ve read plot summaries.) I don’t know what it is about horrible things that entertain us or intrigue is, but it happens without fail. I guess that’s why we like things like The Hunger Games.  I heard about this poor girl and decided I wanted to give her some justice, more justice than the movie gave her at least.

Querida is quite possibly one of the darkest characters I’ve ever written. She goes through intense torture at the hands of people who are supposed to protect her, but she takes it all so she can protect her little sister. Throughout the course of the story, she goes from being a stubborn, strong-willed, vibrant girl to deteriorating to almost nothing, and her best friend watches all of this happen. Thankfully, he’s bright enough to question it and NOT join in with the torture. A combination of her own will and her best friend keeps her going and eventually helps her break free.

And you know how I screwed this up? I never gave her any resolution whatsoever. She got her justice and then decided, “I’m going to run away from everything, and that will fix me.” And I ended it there. Do you know how angry that made me? I’M THE AUTHOR, AND I UPSET MYSELF. I’m getting angry just thinking about it. Now I’m not sure if that’s a choice she made or a choice I made. If I had to do things differently, I would handle her healing process much better.

Leave a Reply

