P is for Peter

Standard

p

It’s April, and that means it’s time for the A to Z challenge. I really must be a glutton for punishment; April is my last month of college, and I’m still an amateur blogger, but I must say, I’m looking forward to the challenge. I’m going to be writing short little blurbs about some retired characters from my DISTANT past up until recently; all of them are failed concepts. Part of me is hoping that writing about these characters will inspire me…perhaps to write more during the summer when school is out.

When I finally started interacting with others online, I created four characters that I used almost exclusively. Peter was among those four, so he has a rather special place in my heart. I don’t consider him a failed character, but I do consider him a complicated one. That’s why I decided to add him to my challenge. But first…some background information.

Peter grew up in a village called Dies Irae (wow…my subtle naming abilities yet again). His parents were inn keepers, and he ended up falling in love with the crippled granddaughter of the village elder. He was never very good at socializing, but neither was Anna (the girl he fell in love with). It was a fairly standard “girl next door” scenario. But that all changed when the Fire Nation attacked.

Okay. Maybe not the Fire Nation, but the village got destroyed. In most plots I’ve used them in, they’re separated during the raid. Peter gets tossed around in slavery, and Anna gets rescued by a group of mercenaries. Peter becomes bitter and hateful, and Anna gets some time to heal. Their love story is meant to be one that heals both of them in the end. But there’s so much more to it than that. Peter struggles a lot with trusting humanity in general. He’s sort of an anti-hero in a way; he’s definitely his own worst enemy.

How could I improve upon him? I’d say I should tone down the angst, but I think it’s the right amount for the situation he’s in. I don’t think I focus too much on romance because his main story revolves around escaping from slavery and avenging his family. He just so happens to meet Anna later on. His biggest flaw I think was the fact that I got a little too literal with my symbolism–he was mute. (No freedom. No voice. Whoaaa! Mind blown.) There wasn’t really a reason for it. He wasn’t born that way. It just happened. Writers. We’re strange folks, eh?

Now, enjoy some OLD art.

peter_and_anna_by_heronaria

Anna and Peter (2010)

Leave a Reply

