O is for Oliver

Standard

o

It’s April, and that means it’s time for the A to Z challenge. I really must be a glutton for punishment; April is my last month of college, and I’m still an amateur blogger, but I must say, I’m looking forward to the challenge. I’m going to be writing short little blurbs about some retired characters from my DISTANT past up until recently; all of them are failed concepts. Part of me is hoping that writing about these characters will inspire me…perhaps to write more during the summer when school is out.

vocaloid-oliver-vocaloid-boys-39286456-500-350

He’s a rip-off. He’s a complete rip-off from the Oliver Vocaloid. I was fascinated with him, and I wanted “elaborate upon him.” I suppose there isn’t much to rip off to begin with, just the design and the music, but I still feel incredibly guilty. I can’t help it. Sometimes things intrigue me, and I think, “That’s a great idea! Should use that!” And I do. I’m a terrible person.

In my version, Oliver’s an orphan. (Look how original!) He’s forced to sell papers on a street corner with the other boys at the orphanage in hopes of getting adopted. He ends up running away because he realizes he has a special power and wants to do some good with his life. He ends up losing his voice which is the source of his power (and his ability to sing) for several years. At the end of his arc, he gets adopted by Nathaniel. (Remember him?)

I’d have to do a lot of work on him to start using him again. First, change the name because there are too many orphans named Oliver in the world. (I apologize for the generalization if you happen to be an orphan named Oliver.) Second, I’d need to change his design since I basically stole his appearance. (Can I get sued for that?) Finally…I need to consolidate. I’ve got way too much going on with him. Orphan story arc? Magic powers? Conspiracy plots?

As a note to all of my readers old and new, I wanted to take some time out of my post to thank you. Some of my posts recently have been fairly low quality as if they were hastily written, and they were. I did my best to prep for this month ahead of time (AND I DID. I’m very proud of myself.), but keeping up with this blog has been very rough on me. I’m entering the last few weeks of school, and I’m barely hanging on. So thanks to everyone who reads, comments, likes…anything. I definitely appreciate all of them support. And if I haven’t responded to your comment, it’s probably because I’m waiting until I have some more free time. You guys rock!

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54494-56-5427048F46F3BDAB243D751180204FC0

Leave a Reply

