N is for Nathaniel

Standard

n

It’s April, and that means it’s time for the A to Z challenge. I really must be a glutton for punishment; April is my last month of college, and I’m still an amateur blogger, but I must say, I’m looking forward to the challenge. I’m going to be writing short little blurbs about some retired characters from my DISTANT past up until recently; all of them are failed concepts. Part of me is hoping that writing about these characters will inspire me…perhaps to write more during the summer when school is out.

Here is another character created for a family member. He shares the same name as my little brother, but he’s really a caricature of my actual brother. I took one of my baby bro’s most endearing personality traits and blew it up to epic proportions: he likes to lie tell stories.

Nathaniel Renoir has seven different personalities ranging from an elderly man to a crotchety knight (Don Quixote anyone?)  to one of the most suave noblemen you’ll ever meet; he has one for every day of the week, and he switches personalities and lives every single day without fail. He does it because he loves to perform for people, and it’s also to keep his own identity a secret. He’s trying to make himself a name as a noble so he can marry the love of his life. Later on, it’s a means of masking his own pain.

Nathaniel suffers from weak motivation like so many of my character concepts. Love is pretty powerful, but I want him to have more depth. While it can be motivating, I want there to be more to him. Humans are simply motivated by lov alone. We have other desires and needs in life. (At least I hope we do.) I need to explore his past more and see what I can really do with him.

What kind of motivations do you guys feel are most powerful?

Leave a Reply

