M is for Martha

Standard

m

It’s April, and that means it’s time for the A to Z challenge. I really must be a glutton for punishment; April is my last month of college, and I’m still an amateur blogger, but I must say, I’m looking forward to the challenge. I’m going to be writing short little blurbs about some retired characters from my DISTANT past up until recently; all of them are failed concepts. Part of me is hoping that writing about these characters will inspire me…perhaps to write more during the summer when school is out.

The Ingrams. Faulkner has the Snopes family, and I have the Ingrams. Every single one of the Ingrams are lowdown and dirty scumbags except Martha. She’s sort of the black sheep of a family of thieves and traitors. But I never really worked with her. (This seems to be a common theme with most of my characters. The question remains, do I actually work with any of them? What characters do I use? Do I actually write? Please forgive me, dear reader. It’s currently 1:00 AM. I still haven’t finished my homework, and I’m slowly consuming my weight in cookie dough ice cream. I may not be coherent.)

Martha Ingram is the eldest daughter of Lord Sebastian Ulysses Ingram III. I intended for her to be the sweet, all-about-justice kid. Unlike her younger brother, she tries to be honest, and people think it’s a good thing she’s going to inherit the estate. But recently, I’ve started thinking about making her the most dangerous Ingram. You know, it’s the quiet ones you have to look out for. She’s still all about doing things the right way, but she’s also not afraid to stab someone in the back, especially if it’s a well deserved stabbing.

What went wrong with a not-so-femme-fatale? I threw a boy into the mixture. Why? I’m kind of obsessed with romance, and I think it’s possible to have a good romance in a non-romance plot, but…it muddies the main plot if you focus on it too much. Subtle isn’t my middle name. I really should work on that.

2 responses »

    • The only issue I have with giving characters names that fit their personalities is that when they’re born, their parents can’t possible know how they’re going to turn out later on in life. But I do love the name Marigold.

      Like

Leave a Reply

