I is for Ivan

Standard

i

It’s April, and that means it’s time for the A to Z challenge. I really must be a glutton for punishment; April is my last month of college, and I’m still an amateur blogger, but I must say, I’m looking forward to the challenge. I’m going to be writing short little blurbs about some retired characters from my DISTANT past up until recently; all of them are failed concepts. Part of me is hoping that writing about these characters will inspire me…perhaps to write more during the summer when school is out.

Today I’m actually going to talk about a character I’ve actually spent some time writing with. He was the subject of a NaNoWriMo project in 2014 called The Evolution of Cyrus Easton. (I’ll give you a quick hint and let you know that I won’t be talking about Cyrus today. There isn’t an “I” anywhere near his name.) Ivan is what I like to call a “trap” character. He’s a pretty boy; most people might mistake him for a woman. Not that that actually has anything to do with his character. It’s an homage to my favorite archetype in the Fire Emblem video game series. For those of you who aren’t familiar with the series, there is almost always a young man with long blonde hair who is easily mistaken for a young lady.

Forest (c) FE 14                    Libra (c) FE 13

24803064703_3375b47df2char_90051lucius_fe7_9405
Lucius (c) FE 7

And my personal favorite….
0d0120ffca101a8054282241d2510520

Rafiel (c) FE 10

Ivan is in a group of anarchists, but he’s more or less the voice of reason that no one listens to. He doesn’t even possess any anarchist ideals. He’s mostly there to keep his childhood friend out of trouble which doesn’t always work. Unfortunately, Ivan is passive, and his influence over his friend is very weak. Ivan is a very religious young man which is the main reason he was able to cope with some childhood trauma while most of his friends turned to violence.

Honestly,I’m not sure how realistic this situation is which is why I decided to dedicate today to Ivan. His motivation is weak. Why stay? But then again, aren’t we always asking ourselves these questions? Rewriting that NaNoWriMo story is definitely on my to-do list. I really enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

