H is for Henry

Standard

h

It’s April, and that means it’s time for the A to Z challenge. I really must be a glutton for punishment; April is my last month of college, and I’m still an amateur blogger, but I must say, I’m looking forward to the challenge. I’m going to be writing short little blurbs about some retired characters from my DISTANT past up until recently; all of them are failed concepts. Part of me is hoping that writing about these characters will inspire me…perhaps to write more during the summer when school is out.

FINALLY. A normal name. Henry Brough is a perfectly suitable name for a human being. I’m proud of myself. Well…for the most part.

Henry is a piano prodigy who lets his music speak for him. He can’t read music at all; he simply hears and feels it. He’s not much of a classical pianist though. He travels with his siblings enjoying the finer parts of folk music. (Actually, if you remember my post about Devlin, he’s in the same group as his elder brother.) Since his instrument isn’t exactly mobile, he usually gets a chance to play only at bars and inns. He’s most afraid of public ridicule, since he has the most awful accent I could imagine. I’m not event sure what I had in mind when I first started writing dialogue for him. I omitted so many vowels that his speech resembled Gaelic with a semi-French accent. It makes sense if you don’t think about it.

He’s another one of those characters that could potentially be interesting if I had more passion to work with him. I know in one potential plot line, he becomes the victim of a scientist and loses his will to play music anymore. I think that’s a pretty good starting point, but at the same time, it isn’t novel material. I may just have to settle and keep him a minor character at most.

6 responses »

  1. I can’t believe these characters are retired – you’ve made them very interesting. Maybe at the end of the challenge you could through a party for them and have them all meet. See what happens. 😀

    Like

    • Now that would be an interesting prompt for sure! It might end up a bit crack-ish, but if I rework a few plots, I might be able to actually work something out. Thanks for visiting!

      Like

    • I’ll be sure to check your blog out. I could use some productivity advice. I’ve been meaning to work on short stories since I tend to burn myself out on bigger projects. Thanks for visiting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

