E is for Elektra

Standard

e

It’s April, and that means it’s time for the A to Z challenge. I really must be a glutton for punishment; April is my last month of college, and I’m still an amateur blogger, but I must say, I’m looking forward to the challenge. I’m going to be writing short little blurbs about some retired characters from my DISTANT past up until recently; all of them are failed concepts. Part of me is hoping that writing about these characters will inspire me…perhaps to write more during the summer when school is out.

Remember how I said that I was obsessed with mythological creatures? Well, this combines my terrible naming abilities and that obsession to create…a character that never got any love. I was fiddling with some characters to establish my world’s mythos, and Elektra was one of them. I have a decent sized profile written for her, but it basically just says, “She’s a djinn. She got captured and is stuck in a mortal form.”

Unlike Robin Williams’ lovable Genie, she was meant to be very dismissive of mortals. So I suppose there’s some sort of cruel irony in Elektra’s position–since she’s…you know trapped in a mortal form. However, I never went anywhere with her. I don’t believe I ever even wrote a little drabble with her. She’s completely unexplored material. I do think she would work out better as a historical figure in my world’s mythos than as an actual character.

Who knows? This process has already been fairly therapeutic.

But once again…naming… Whoops.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

