D is for Devlin

Standard

d

It’s April, and that means it’s time for the A to Z challenge. I really must be a glutton for punishment; April is my last month of college, and I’m still an amateur blogger, but I must say, I’m looking forward to the challenge. I’m going to be writing short little blurbs about some retired characters from my DISTANT past up until recently; all of them are failed concepts. Part of me is hoping that writing about these characters will inspire me…perhaps to write more during the summer when school is out.

So this name is kind of normal, maybe? Out of all my posts so far, this name might be the best so far. It’s dashing. It has alliteration and rolls right off the tongue. It’s cool without trying to be too cool! I don’t really know what quite inspired this character. I actually wanted a mediator in-between my villain and my heroes. He’s best friends with the villain and relies on him for a medicine he takes. But he’s also dating one of the heroes.

Devlin Darcy is a rich young man who tends to affiliate himself with the “little people.” He was the second-born son, but he suddenly inherited everything when his older brother knocked up a maid and ran off with her. (As an additional note, I’d like to add that Devlin’s brother, Colin, is a total “hippie” and started a folk band after running off. How is that relevant to any sort of story? It really isn’t. I was–and still am–going through an obsessive folk music phase.) Overall, he’s a very weak character (personality-wise). He lets his girlfriend walk all over him. He prefers isolation over social events. He also suffers from horrible migraines and relies on his best friend for “medicine.”

I think Devlin could be an interesting character, but I created him with the wrong intentions. I needed him to be a “filler,” but I should have fleshed him out more. I should have cared for him more. Now he’s sitting at the bottom of the barrel with way too many unresolved potential plot-lines.

ADDITIONAL FUN FACT: Devlin is part of a group of characters that were inspired by my small group of high school friends. The real Devlin was actually named Devon. He was a boy many of my friends had a crush on–the skinny jean wearing emo bad boy. Devlin is neither of those things.

5 responses »

    • I’M SO SORRY IT TOOK ME FIVE DAYS TO GET TO YOUR COMMENT. I was on a trip for an academic conference, and I just go back, so I’m playing catch up. Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. It means a lot. I absolutely love writing and growing, and I still have a long way to go, but this is very encouraging.

      Like

Leave a Reply

