C is for Caspian

Standard

c

It’s April, and that means it’s time for the A to Z challenge. I really must be a glutton for punishment; April is my last month of college, and I’m still an amateur blogger, but I must say, I’m looking forward to the challenge. I’m going to be writing short little blurbs about some retired characters from my DISTANT past up until recently; all of them are failed concepts. Part of me is hoping that writing about these characters will inspire me…perhaps to write more during the summer when school is out.

I went through a phase where I was (I kind of still am) obsessed with mythology and fantasy (and to a lesser degree vampires, but we don’t speak of that). I’ve never read the Percy Jackson books, so I suppose you can’t criticize me for stealing ideas on purpose. I wanted to work with characters that were half human and half mythological creature. (I can see how that’s similar to the idea of demigod children.) I came up with a huge backstory (which is much too long to explain here). But I will say that puberty for these guys is hilarious. They can’t control their powers (elemental in nature usually) until they’re a bit older. So pimples could be a problem…or turning into a thirty foot dragon during class and burning down half the school could also be a problem. I could spend days explaining Caspian’s backstory, but for the sake of simplicity, I’ll just say that Caspian is half mermaid; in my world, that means he can shift into a mermaid at will. (He doesn’t have like…one leg and one fin. That would be a horrible thing for me to do!)

Caspian and his twin sister, Neredia, are part of an elite group of knights known as  the Dragon’s Throat. (I will admit to borrowing that. I remember reading Frank Peretti’s book The Door in the Dragon’s Throat when I was a kid.) He was a spy up until a mission went bad, and he ended up losing his tongue. Thankfully, his team was able to rescue him before anymore harm could be done, but…he chooses not to do spy work anymore. I wonder why?

Believe it or not, I’m actually kind of fond of him. Once again, I think I tried too hard to make his name “cool,” but if I could hammer out or remove the aspect of the mermaid side, I might actually have a pretty solid character. A burned spy? Everyone loves a good “my childhood dream of being a hero got shattered” story. (Or is that just me?) He wasn’t too angsty. He wasn’t too much or too little excitement. The only problem is that he’s difficult to use as a main character seeing as he doesn’t really…communicate effectively most of the time. It’s some food for thought at least.

I do recognize that I have an obsession with fraternal twins. You may see that soon enough.

Leave a Reply

