30 Day Writing Challenge – Day 17

Standard

I’m definitely on time today! Proud of myself. (At least I’m getting things done.)

Post about your zodiac sign and whether or not it fits you.

I’ve never been a zodiac person. My only experience with any sort of zodiac sign is figuring out what animal I am on the Chinese calendar. (I’m a dog by the way.) For this one, I actually had to do a little bit of research. I was born on August 7th, so I’m a Leo. All my information is borrowed from: http://www.ganeshaspeaks.com/leo/leo-traits.action

This source says my positive traits are: energetic, optimistic, straightforward, and loyal. I think the funniest part of this is that is says Leos are “ruled by Sun, the source of infinite energy.” If I had infinite energy, I wouldn’t be addicted to coffee. While I agree that I’m a very energetic person, especially when I tell a story in real life, I run out of energy VERY quickly. Being around others saps my energy. As a result, I can spend only a few hours at most in a big group before I start to get grumpy.

The source says my negative traits are: headstrong, egotistic, possessive, dominating, impatient, and arrogant. Now, I don’t think I agree with most of these. I’m not headstrong. I may have a firm stance on my core beliefs, but I like to think I could be swayed by a good, rational argument. It has been done before. My possessiveness is attached to things I’ve bought rather than people. I can share people. They have their own will. However, if I’ve worked hard for something, I do not want to share, especially with my younger siblings. I want my game system or computer or new dress to stay looking nice. I may prefer to be a leader, but I don’t always dominate a situation. I like to delegate to others. I don’t like the stress that comes with leading. While I do like for everything to go my way, I’ve learned that others often have good ideas. If no one gives any input, I suppose you could say that I dominate. And the arrogance… I’m not. That’s all I have to say on that matter.

“Amazingly creative in almost all spheres of their lives, Leo individuals are independent and dominant.” – This strokes my apparently fragile ego.

“The word ‘doubt’ or, for that matter, ‘self doubt’ is not a part of a Leo’s dictionary.” – This is a lie. I doubt myself in almost every aspect of my life.

“Their ruler Sun bestows them with sparkle and zest.” – Not only am I sparkly, but I’m zesty as well.

“Nonetheless, the never say die attitude of Leos helps them take their failures and setbacks in a positive stride.” – I tend to make fun of my failures. Does that count?

I apologize to any of my readers who perhaps take their astrology seriously. Me? I think you can find a grain of truth in anything if you believe enough, but I certainly don’t want to put my faith in the stars. Leos seem aggressive and domineering, two things I don’t identify with myself. While I do appreciate the fact that my sign is royal and noble (and sparkly), I certainly can’t take it seriously.

Leave a Reply

