30 Day Writing Challenge – Day 12

Standard

Write about five blessings in your life.

I’m glad this is a nice change from yesterday. (Too many of these blog posts seem negative, and I don’t need that in my life, but it is nice to get it off of my chest.) Last year, I told myself I would stop dwelling on the negative as much as I had in the past and try to find something positive. I would love to write about blessings.

1.) My Little Sister

We haven’t always gotten along. In fact, we’ve been rather mean to each other, but in the last few years, we’ve started to get along better (probably because I’ve moved out of the house, and she doesn’t have to deal with me all the time). Getting a message from her almost always brightens my day. We understand each other even if we don’t necessarily agree. And the other day, she sent me this tumblr screenshot which completely sums up our relationship.

2.) My Roomie

Or I should say…ex-roomie. I met one of my best friends at the end of my freshman year of college. We really didn’t know each other that well, but we both needed a roommate for the coming year. We agreed and became fast friends for two short years. She graduated this year…but she provided me with more support than I could have ever asked for. She was a prayer warrior. She was enthusiastic. She followed me through all my endeavors and took pictures even when she really didn’t need to. She encouraged me, and she made me laugh. Best of all, I could rely on her to eat pineapple and ham pizza with me.

3.) Japan

I should count this as a wonderful blessing. I still can’t believe I’m here. (I mean, I can, but if you had told me three years ago that I would be spending a semester abroad, I would have laughed.) I’ve worked hard to get here, and I’m grateful each and every day for my life here. I know the memories I make will last a lifetime.

4.) My health

I’m an extremely disaster prone person. All. The. Time. I hurt myself with life. (There’s a running joke in my family that Fate will not stop until every last particle of matter has found its way into my eye.) However, I rarely get sick. Maybe once or twice a year. Sometimes it isn’t even bad. I can recover in a few days even if I feel terrible. (Of course even if I do feel terrible, I usually keep trucking through my day. I actually had a professor tell me to stop coming to class last semester.)

5.) Caffeine (Here’s to you coffee and tea!)

Okay, here’s my silly one. If coffee didn’t exist, I would probably be a very irritable person all the time. My nickname in high school was actually Caffeine. But yeah, I’m a three cup a day kind of person, one with each meal to give me enough energy to power through all my homework. Thank goodness! (On a separate note, we will not talk about the time I overdosed on caffeine.)

Leave a Reply

