30 Day Writing Challenge – Day 9

Standard

Post some words of wisdom that speak to you.

I actually want to keep this short and sweet. I’ve been quite busy this week for various reasons, but I’m proud of myself for keeping this up. Here it goes!

“Light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.” –John 1:5

These are probably the most comforting words I’ve ever read.

Recently, I was walking to the bus stop at night. I never realized how terrifying the dark can be, especially when you’re alone. My purple suede heels teetered on the pavement. The shadows I saw across the alley could have been mine or someone else’s. The sounds I heard seemed to come from everywhere, whispering right in my ear. Disoriented, I struggled for almost ten minutes to figure out where I was despite only having took about 50 steps from my original location. Suddenly, I pulled out my phone, turned on the flashlight, and that little bit of light helped me gain my sanity again.

I think the only reason I haven’t snapped is because my faith is that little bit of light. Even when my faith is especially weak, part of me clings to it. I may struggle on a daily basis, but something keeps me getting up in the morning. Something keeps me working towards a goal that I’m not even sure of. The world is never entirely pitch black.

Figuratively, I’m lost but not quite. I have no idea where I’m going, but Someone Else does and trust me when I say that I’m beyond glad I’m not in charge of that navigation. I’d be walking in circles for all eternity.

Leave a Reply

